

COMMISSION MEMBERS

East Asia Regional Council of Schools

STEPHEN CATHERS

GREGORY FRANKLIN

Chairperso

Accrediting Commission for Schools Western Association of Schools and Colleges

533 Airport Boulevard, Suite 200 • Burlingame, California 94010 (650) 696-1060 • Fax (650) 696-1867 mail@acswasc.org • www.acswasc.org

FRED VAN LEUVEN, ED.D. *President*

MARILYN S. GEORGE, ED.D. Vice President

May 3, 2018

Dr. Antonio Shelton, Ed.D. Principal Santa Monica High School 601 Pico Blvd. Santa Monica, CA 90405

Dear Dr. Shelton:

The Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of Schools and Colleges (ACS WASC) announces the action taken at the Spring 2018 Commission Meeting. The ACS WASC Commissioners have determined Santa Monica High School (9 - 12) meets the ACS WASC criteria for accreditation. This accreditation status is based on all of the information provided by the school, including the self-study report, and the satisfactory completion of the on-site accreditation visit.

It is the decision of the Commission to grant Six-Year Accreditation Status with a Mid-cycle Two-day Visit through June 30, 2024.

Santa Monica High School is required to prepare a Mid-cycle Progress Report for the Mid-cycle Visit. The report and visit should demonstrate that the school has:

- Addressed the critical areas for follow-up through the schoolwide action plan;
- Made appropriate progress on the implementation of the schoolwide action plan; and
- Improved student achievement relative to the schoolwide learner outcomes and the academic standards.

Accreditation status is conditioned upon Santa Monica High School's continued adherence with the ACS WASC policies, procedures, and criteria for accreditation. This includes a requirement that an accredited school annually contribute members from the school staff or district to participate on visiting committees. Failure to maintain compliance with said policies, procedures, and standards is grounds for modification and/or withdrawal of the accreditation.

Vice Chairperson Association of California School Administrators THOMAS ADAMS California Department of Education MICHAEL ALVAREZ Western Catholic Educational Association SAMANTHA BENISH California Federation of Teachers GRANT BENNETT Association of California School Administrators RON CARRUTH Association of California School Administrators NANCY COONIS Western Catholic Educational Association ERIKA CRUZ Pacific Islands MITCHELL D'OLIER Public Member, Hawaii ODIE DOUGLAS Association of California School Administrators LEE DUNCAN Association of Christian Schools International IUAN A. FLECHA Association of California School Administrators ANDREA FUKUMOTO Hawaii State Department of Education DAVID GAUDI Hawaii Association of Independent Schools MELISSA HANDY Hawaii Association of Independent Schools LAURA HERMAN Charter Schools DEREK MINAKAMI Hawaii Government Employees Association IOE MITCHNER Public Member, California SUZANNE MULCAHY Hawaii State Department of Education BARBARA NUNES California School Boards Association DOREEN OLESON California Association of Independent Schools MATTHEW RUSSO Postsecondary Education LAUREL SALERNO-WHITE California Teachers Association MARSHA SERAFIN California Association of Private School Organizations KIMBERLY SHIELDS Western Catholic Educational Association SALLY TODD Western Catholic Educational Association BERIT VON POHLE Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-day Adventists JOEL WAHLERS National Lutheran School Accreditation DIANA WALSH-REUSS Association of California School Administrators

SOPHIA WAUGH California Congress of Parents and Teachers, Inc. (PTA)

DAVID YOSHIHARA Association of California School Administrators May 3, 2018 Santa Monica High School Page 2

The Commission looks forward to Santa Monica High School's anticipated success and continuing improvement in keeping with ACS WASC's pursuit of excellence in elementary, secondary, and adult education.

Sincerely,

Stophen Oathurn

Stephen Cathers Commission Chairperson

cc: Visiting Committee Chairperson Superintendent