California Standardized Testing & Reporting (STAR)

STAR 9 is a nationally normed multiple- choice achievement test. School districts are required to administer the STAR Testing to all students in grades 2 through 11, except for those students whose Individual Education Plans (IEPs) explicitly exempt them, or students whose parent or guardian submits a written request to exempt the student. In grades 2 through 8 students are tested in reading, spelling, written expression, and mathematics. In grades 9 through 11 testing is required in reading, writing, mathematics, science, and history/social science.

STAR Reports

2008 STAR Report
2007 STAR Report
2006 STAR Report
2005 STAR Report
2004 STAR Report
2003 STAR Report

The 2008 Standardized Testing and Reporting (STAR) Program included five components:
  • California Standards Tests (CST)
  • California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA)
  • California Achievement Tests, Sixth Edition Survey (CAT/6 Survey)—grades 3 and 7 only
  • Standards-based Tests in Spanish (STS)—grades 2 through 4
  • Aprenda: La prueba de logros en español, Tercera edición (Aprenda 3)—grades 5 through 11